The Story You Tell Yourself

It’s your captivity and the gateway to your freedom

Samir Selmanović Ph.D.
4 min readNov 30, 2023

--

Photo by Daniel Tong on Unsplash

There are grand stories all around us. In the middle of the holidays, in the pages of the books we read and on the screens we look at. I work with people’s stories for a living. With the experience of coaching more than 100 leaders and working with more than 50 organizations, I want here to remind us that our own life stories matter. So let me tell you about my time travel device: a one-of-a-kind knife.

When I visit my home country Croatia every summer, I get mesmerized by the sea, sun, and, most of all, the kitchen. We usually stay at my sister’s house on the Adriatic coast, and our Summer life revolves around the kitchen table and one particular blade.

My dad: “This is the Solingen.”

A long time ago, about the same time I had my first elementary school crush, I remember holding a new chef’s knife. It was Saturday morning. I lifted it from a cutting board where my dad placed it, praising its craftsmanship. You might have heard about or used a Wüsthof knife, the brand owned by the seventh generation of the Wüsthof family since 1814. They come from Solingen, Germany, known for centuries as the “City of Blades.” My dad called…

--

--

Samir Selmanović Ph.D.

www.samirselmanovic.com | Life and Leadership Coach | Retreat Facilitator | Writer/Speaker | Founder of TURN Community